© 2019,  Sentinelles de la paix

  • Facebook App Icon
  • YouTube App Icon

The World Peace Bell

The first bell was created in 1951 by Chiyoji Nakagawa, whose traumatic experiences as a Japanese soldier during World War II led him to commit to peace for his life. Nakagawa was shot while on a Burmese battlefield and lost consciousness. When he awoke, he found himself alone, and in a pagoda (bell tower.) His entire brigade had been lost. He was the only survivor of his regiment

That First Peace Bell, contained metal coins from 26 countries and the metal sword Nakagawa used on the battlefields of Burma during WWII.

The UN World Peace Bell was donated in 1954 after the Second World War to the United Nations Headquarters by Mr Chiyoji Nakagawa. The bell was cast by coins and medals provided in cooperation with 98 countries of the United Nations at that time, to appeal the misery of war and preciousness of peace.

In 1994, a special ceremony marked the fortieth anniversary of the Japanese Peace Bell. During the occasion, Secretary-General Boutros Boutros-Ghali reiterated that: "Whenever it has sounded, this Japanese Peace Bell has sent a clear message. The message is addressed to all humanity. Peace is precious. It is not enough to yearn for peace. Peace requires work -- long, hard, difficult work."

In Japan, the first bell was placed in Wakkanai City - Hokkaido prefecture, the northernmost tip of the country and the second was in Ishigaki.

The other three World Peace Bells are installed in Osaka (Tsurumi Green Park), Amagasaki (Motohama Green Park) and in the Hiezan Enryaku-ji temple in Chiga prefecture.

Others Peace Bells around the World

Ankara, Turkey, 1989 - Berlin, Germany, 1989 - Warsaw, Poland, 1989 (stolen in 2002, replaced 2015) - Tacubaya, Mexico City, Mexico, 1990 - Cowra, New South Wales, Australia, 1992 - Ulan Bator, Mongolia, 1993 - Quezon City, Philippines, 1994 - Vienna International Centre, Austria, 1995 - Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, 1996 - Brasília, Brasil, 1997 - Buenos Aires, Argentina, 1998 - Quito, Ecuador, 1999 - Los Angeles, California, USA, 2001 - Alcobendas, Community of Madrid, Spain, 2003 - Tashkent, Uzbekistan, 2003 - Christchurch, New Zealand, 2006 - San Francisco, Argentina, 2014